After suffering a workplace accident, you may hesitate to report and take further action because of how your employer will react. However, you need to follow what the law says when seeking workers’ compensation benefits.
Time is of the essence when you suffer a workplace injury, and you need to adhere to set deadlines. Below are the timelines you need to observe.
Inform your employer within 30 days
In North Carolina, you have 30 days to inform your employer of a workplace accident. Such notice should be issued orally and in writing to your employer. If you wait past the 30-day window, your claim is likely to be dismissed, and as a result, you could miss out on the benefits.
You have two years to file a claim
North Carolina law places a blanket period of two years to file a workers’ compensation claim. While waiting that long after suffering an accident before filing a claim is not advisable, it may be impossible to get benefits for claims filed beyond that period.
For occupational injuries, it may be understandable, but the bottom line is that you need to swing into action as soon as you suffer injuries.
Protecting your claim
Besides observing the deadlines, it is necessary to consider the tips below in protecting your claim:
- Seek medical advice as soon as you suffer a workplace accident
- Document specific aspects of the accident
- Follow the medical treatment prescribed by your doctor
- Keep copies of any medical records and bills
Seek help if you are not sure of how to navigate the claims process
Ultimately, what matters is that you get the benefits you are entitled to as an employee after suffering a workplace accident. Knowing how to handle your claim and the mishaps to avoid is integral to your future security.